Entering the European Union is about to get more complicated for non-EU nationals from next year.

A new Entry Exit System (EES) is set to come into effect from May 2023.

This is part of the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) that will be implemented later next year. 
It will require visitors from outside the EU to apply and pay for a visa waiver before entering a country in the Schengen zone.

Here’s how European countries are preparing for the changes and how you might be able to avoid visa fees.